clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Texas Tech Lands Multiple AP All-Big XII Honors

New, 4 comments

Several members of the 2015 Red Raiders found themselves with All-Big XII honors yesterday.

Michael C. Johnson-USA TODAY Sports

The AP All-Big XII team is a huge honor that is awarded only to the most deserving in the conference. This year, 5 Red Raiders broke the 1st and 2nd team. Jakeem Grant (All-Purpose), LeRaven Clark (OT), and DeAndre Washington (RB) gained first-team status, with Micah Awe (MLB) and Alfredo Morales (OG) gained second-team honors.

DeAndre Washington finished the season just shy of 1,500 yards rushing, edging out Wendell Smallwood of WVU for the most rushing yards in the conference.

LeRaven Clark gained first-team honors through his stellar play against top defenders, most notably Shawn Oakman of Baylor and Emmanuel Ogbah of Oklahoma State.

Jakeem Grant had no shortage of highlights this year, but his honors were most likely secured with his insane 90 yard catch and run at Oklahoma State combined with his kickoff return touchdown.

Micah Awe finished second in the conference in tackles with 109. It's a welcome surprise to see Awe on this list, as he was a bright spot on a mostly dark defensive campaign for the Red Raiders.

Alfredo Morales has long been praised by the coaching staff as one of the hardest workers on the field, and it shows with this honor. His efforts against Baylor's Andrew Billings and Kansas State's Will Geary did not go unnoticed.

Notable snubs were Jah'Shawn Johnson, Nigel Bethel, and Patrick Mahomes.

You can catch the full All-Big XII AP awards here.