clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Preview: Texas Tech Red Raiders vs. Iowa State Cyclones

New, 8 comments

The Iowa State Cyclones look for a bit of revenge against Texas Tech as the Red Raiders travel to Ames. We've got game information and a preview of today's game.

Michael C. Johnson-USA TODAY Sports

Game Details:

Date: Saturday, February 7th
Time: 1:00 pm
Good Guys: Texas Tech Red Raiders (12-11, 2-8)
Bad Guys: Iowa State Cyclones (16-5, 6-3)
Location: James H. Hilton Coliseum | Ames, IA
TV/Stream: ESPNU
Radio/Stream: Broadcast Affiliates and TuneIn App

Starting Lineup

Pts / Reb Pts / Reb
POINT GUARD Robert Turner (6-3/190) 9.3 / 1.7* Monte Morris (6-2/170) 11.1 / 5.6*
SHOOTING GUARD Devaugntah Williams (6-4/205) 10.7 / 3.2 Naz Long (6-4/210) 11.7 / 3.2
SMALL FORWARD Randy Onwuasor (6-3/190) 5.2 / 3.3 Bryce Dejean-Jones (6-6/210) 12.9 / 6.0
POWER FORWARD Zach Smith (6-8/205) 5.2 / 5.1 Dustin Hogue (6-6/220) 10.9 / 5.1
CENTER Isaiah Manderson (6-10/240) 4.4 / 2.9 Georges Niang (6-8/230) 15.6 / 6.4

* Assists.

Three Keys to the Game:

1. Scouting the Cyclones. Since the Texas Tech upset of Iowa State a few weeks ago, Iowa State beat Texas and TCU before losing to Kansas earlier this week. Iowa State definitely has something to play for as they sit two games behind Kansas. They’re close and I don’t think they can afford a slip-up again. And with Oklahoma and West Virginia coming up next, I think that this is a game that Dreamboat Hoiberg is going to stress.  I was pretty pessimistic when I wrote the preview the last time around and it is because I'm so impressed with the offensive efficiency of Iowa State, especially Morris. I dream about a point guard that averages double-figures and five and a half assists and a starting five that averages over double-figures.

2. Stats. ISU is a fantastic shooting team and it shows. Oh, and those turnovers are fantastic for ISU.  Texas Tech continues to hold a free throw and offensive rebound percentage over opponents, which is interesting.

I don't remember Iowa State being this poor defensively, they are 113th in AdjD, but they are 8th in AdjO and 21st overall.  Again, that offense is spectacular, but that defense is going to keep ISU from going far enough in the tournament unless Iowa State gets unbelievably hot.  Texas Tech is 158th overall, 244th in AdjO and 91st in AdjD.

*AdjO and AdjD via KenPom.

3. Matching Up. This game comes down to whether or not the guards can hit some outside shots . . . on the road.  Williams, Gotcher and Turner all need to be able to hit from the outside in order for this game to go remotely well for Texas Tech and there have been too many times where those three don't produce and the end result isn't pretty.  It usually goes much better for Texas Tech at home, rather than on the road.  I think we've learned with the two Texas Tech conference wins that if the guards get hot, then anything can happen.