clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Texas Tech announces Athletic Hall of Honor Inductees

Consider this a fluff piece for me to get my DTN blogging legs momentarily. All apologies for this post lacking the relevance and indepth statistical analyses you've come to expect from our own Seth.

Anyways, per The Official Site:

Eight former Red Raider athletes representing five decades are slated for induction into the Texas Tech Athletic Hall of Honor during the Texas Tech-Texas A&M football weekend Oct. 12-13.
No better time to honor great Texas Tech athletes than after/during our inevitable stomping of Texas A&M this October. And your inductees are:
Comprising the class are volleyball player Dr. Jill (Burness) Stowe, tennis player A.J. "Jake" Broyles, men's basketball players Jeff Taylor, Jason Sasser and Carl Ince, and football players James Gray, Ron Reeves and Jerry Johnson.
Details on attendence are available in the link above, if interested, along with brief biographies of all the inductees.

What caught my eye from the article, fully admitting an undeveloped Texas Tech athletic history mental database, was that Jason Sasser played for the 30-2 1996 Texas Tech Red Raiders (also SWC Champions) under Coach James Dickey, who was replaced by Bob Knight in 2001. I think I would crap myself if we only lost two games this season.

Also, the Red Raiders made their first NCAA Tournament in 1955 (thanks largely to Carl Ince), and James Gray (more on this here) set an NCAA Bowl record that survives today with 280 yards in an All-American Bowl victory over Duke. I had no idea.

Double T Nation regulars would do me and the site an enormous favor if they'd post their own thoughts in the diaries sections in Seth's absence. I could use all the help you are willing to offer.

Go Tech