clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patrick Mahomes Named to Manning Award Watch List

Mahomes was named to his sixth watch list today.

Thomas B. Shea-USA TODAY Sports

The preseason recognition continues for QB Patrick Mahomes. This morning he was named to the Manning Award Watch List. This marks the sixth watch list Mahomes has been named to before the start of the season.

The Manning Award is given annually to the nation's top collegiate quarterback. The award was created by the Sugar Bowl to honor the collegiate accomplishments of the Mannings (Archie, Peyton, and Eli). This award is also the only quarterback one that includes the candidates' bowl performances in the balloting.

This is the second time Mahomes has made this watch list. Midway through the 2015 season he was named to the list, emerging as one of the top QBs in college football. He had over 5,000 yards of total offense for the Red Raiders, making him the youngest quarterback in FBS history to reach that mark.

Mahomes adds the Manning Award to a laundry list of preseason accolades. He is also a candidate for the Johnny Unitas, Maxwell, and Davey O'Brien Awards along with the AFCA Good Works Team and the Wuerffel Trophy.

Congrats on making another watch list Mahomes!