clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Texas Tech football announces its 2019 team captains

“This will be a player-led program”

In his first year as the head coach, Matt Wells announced his team captains for the upcoming 2019 season. A total of 16 Red Raiders across each class were selected, with four captains of the bunch to be mix-and-matched for the coin tosses throughout the season.

The team-elected captains are as follows:

Seniors: Jordyn Brooks (LB), Travis Bruffy (OL), Douglas Coleman III (DB), Terence Steele (OL), Broderick Washington Jr. (DL)

Juniors: Jack Anderson (OL), Eli Howard (DL), Riko Jeffers (DL), Thomas Leggett (DB), Jax Welch (RB)

Sophomores: Alan Bowman (QB), Adrian Frye (DB), Ta’Zhawn Henry (RB)

Freshmen: Xavier Benson (LB), Erik Ezukanma (WR), SaRodorick Thompson (RB)

See the video of Coach Wells’ announcement below.