clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kirby Hocutt returns as CFP Chair

Kirby Hocutt will serve his second year as the CFP Chair in 2017.

NCAA Football: College Football Playoff-Selection Sunday Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

Texas Tech athletic director Kirby Hocutt will return as the CFP chair in 2017, as announced Tuesday. It was also announced that Hocutt’s term on the committee has been extended through February 2018. Hocutt will end up serving three years on the selection committee. He took over for Arkansas athletic director Jeff Long as the committee chair before the 2016 season.

"I'm honored and excited to serve again as the CFP Selection Committee chair for what I believe is the nation's premier sporting event," Hocutt said. "I wouldn't be able to do this if it weren't for my tremendous staff at Texas Tech and I appreciate their support."

As chairman, Hocutt helps set the selection committee's agenda during its weekly meetings in Dallas. He serves as the official spokesperson for the committee, appearing throughout national telecasts each week after the rankings have been announced.

New appointees to the committee Tuesday include Frank Beamer, Chris Howard and Eugene “Gene” Smith.

It is great exposure for Texas Tech, and we should be proud that Hocutt will continue to serve in this role for another year.