clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patrick Mahomes Named to the Maxwell Award Watch List

NCAA Football: Texas Bowl-Louisiana State vs Texas Tech Thomas B. Shea-USA TODAY Sports

Earlier this morning, the Maxwell Football Club released its initial watch list for the 2016 Maxwell Award and current Texas Tech Quarterback Patrick Mahomes has made the cut. Also making the list this year are former Tech quarterback Davis Webb, Ohio St QB J.T. Barrett, and Big 12 opponents KD Cannon, Shock Linwood, Seth Russell (Baylor), Deante’ Gray, Kavontae Turpin (TCU), Skyler Howard (West Virginia), Baker Mayfield, Samaje Perine (Oklahoma), Mason Rudolph, James Washington (Oklahoma State), and Mike Warren (Iowa State).

Although this list is rather inclusive, it is still a prestigous list to be named to, and probably one of many to come for Mahomes, who is already garnering NFL scout predictions before playing a down in his junior season. The semifinalists for the award will be announced on October 31st, and the 3 finalists on November 21st. The award is voted on by a group of sportswriters, sportscasters, and head coaches across the country. Last years winner was Derrick Henry from Alabama who also won the Heisman.

Congrats to Pat and all the other players on the list for attaining this honor. In just 2 months, it will be time to prove it on the field.