clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Double-T Nation Post Season Awards | Defensive Most Improved Player

This is the second annual "Double-T Nation's Post Season Awards". The categories which the DTN community will be nominating and voting are as follows: Offensive Rookie of the Year; Defensive Rookie of the Year; Most Improved Offensive Player; Most Improved Defensive Player; Special Teams Player of the Year; Offensive Player of the Year; Defensive Player of the Year; and Most Valuable Player.

This is another short list, in part because there were either freshmen or redshirt freshmen playing, which would make them eligible for the rookie of the year award or they were mostly upper-classmen and established players, i.e. Colby Whitlock, Bront Bird, Brian Duncan, etc. So in trying to figure out nominees the three players that I thought qualified for this award were the following: S Brett Dewhurst, LB Julius Howard, LB Tyrone Sonier, and LB Sam Fehoko.

So how much better were these players. Fehoko finished 2010 with 40 tackles, 3.5 TFL (tackles for loss) and 2.0 sacks compared to just 19 tackles, 1.0 TFL and no sacks in 2009. Dewhurst finished the year with 35 tackles and 4 PBU (passes broken up) compared to 26 tackles and 4 PBU in 2009. Howard, who switched positions for the 100th time, finished 2010 with 33 tackles and 4.0 TFL while having 29 tackles and 1.0 TFL in 2009. Last, but not least, in limited time, Sonier had 22 tackles, 1.0 TFL and 1.0 sacks in 2010 while having only 4 tackles in 2009.

Let me know if I've forgotten someone and even though I've listed these players, I'd still like for you guys and gals to nominate players in the comments and vote for other if you feel like I've missed someone.

DTN Post Season Award Winners