clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Double-T Nation Post Season Awards | Nominees for Defensive Rookie of the Year

This is the second annual "Double-T Nation's Post Season Awards". The categories which the DTN community will be nominating and voting are as follows: Offensive Rookie of the Year; Defensive Rookie of the Year; Most Improved Offensive Player; Most Improved Defensive Player; Special Teams Player of the Year; Offensive Player of the Year; Defensive Player of the Year; and Most Valuable Player. I'll be doing a post where you nominate players for the specific category and then I'll open up the poll the next day.

We'll be starting this list from the bottom and move up. Today, we're voting for Defensive Rookie of the Year. There will be some times that I'll post a nomination request, but I think I there's a pretty limited number of players who are even eligible. And to clarify, for rookie of the year, eligible players would include freshmen, redshirt freshmen or the first year for a JUCO player. Even if a player only played a handful of plays as a freshman, he's not eligible.

And most of the time, I think I'd like to limit the nominees to the top 5, but since I think this particular vote is going to be a landslide, I'll list everyone that I think is eligible and just see how things go. I think I'll definitely be taking nominations for each of the MVP's and most improved players.

Here are my nominees: S Tre' Porter, CB Jarvis Phillips, ILB Cqulin Hubert, CB Eugene Neboh, S/OLB Terrance Bullitt, DE Scott Smith, DE Donald Langley, DT Pearlie Graves, DE Kerry Hyder, CB Derrick Mays, DE Dartwan Bush, and DE Lawrence Rumph.

Let me know if I've forgotten someone in the comments.

DTN Post Season Award Winners |

  • Offensive MVP |
  • Defensive MVP |
  • Special Teams MVP |
  • Offensive Most Improved Player |
  • Defensive Most Improved Player |
  • Offensive Rookie of the Year |
  • Defensive Rookie of the Year |