Game Preview | Texas Tech Red Raiders vs. Kansas Jayhawks

Michael C. Johnson-USA TODAY Spo

Texas Tech looks for the ultimate upset of Kansas on Senior Night for the Jayhawks.

THE INFORMATION

Game Details
TEAMS Texas Tech Red Raiders (13-16, 5-11)
Kansas Jayhawks (22-7, 13-3)
WHERE Allen Fieldhouse | Lawrence, Kansas
WHEN 7:00 pm Wednesday March 5th
CONSUME Radio - TTSN | TV - Big 12 Network

THE CHARACTERS

Starters
Texas Tech Kansas
Robert Turner (6-3/180) PG Naadir Tharpe (5-11/170)
Toddrick Gotcher (6-4/195) SG Wayne Seldon, Jr. (6-5/230)
Jaye Crockett (6-7/210) SF Andrew Wiggins (6-8/200)
Jordan Tolbert (6-7/225) PF Perry Ellis (6-8/225)
Dejan Kravic (7-0/235) C Tarik Black (6-9/260)

THE ANALYSIS

Key Matchup | Tharpe vs. Turner: Texas Tech has to find match-up that they clearly win. With Crockett not quite up to his usual self, I think the next best option is Turner, who needs to look to create more offense for himself. Turner has played well of late, but the offense just hasn’t been as good without Crockett as a legitimate threat. It would also help to have Turner create and kick the ball out to Hannahs and Gotcher for some better looks.

Take Aim: Most likely, this isn’t going to be pretty. This is Kansas’ senior day and it seems like the schedule-makers have done this a couple of times to Texas Tech. It is never fun to play a team on senior night, much less the best team in the Big 12 that might be a little motivated to kick the crud out of the team that kept it close in Lubbock.

Joel Embiid won’t play tonight, which is a good thing, and it would be nice to see Kravic get the upper hand on his match-up with Black. Black isn’t the player that Embiid is, not even close and Kravic was okay against Embiid. As mentioned above, I simply don’t know how Texas Tech keeps it close without a fully healthy Crockett. He is a warrior and it stinks how he is injured at this point of his career.

Again, Kansas is the best of the Big 12 and it really isn’t all that close despite the close looking records for the Big 12. Kansas is 7th in the KenPom rankings and the next closest team is Oklahoma St. at 24th.

Game Day Links:

The official site with their official preview (via Texas Tech).

The LAJ with a preview of the game (via LAJ):

The DT writes that the Red Raiders hope to break their five game losing streak (via DT).

Congrats to Jaye Crockett and Dejan Kravic for being two of five athletes to earn the Dr. Gerald Lage Award (via Texas Tech). Also congrats to Hayley Haagsma (soccer), Raphael Pfister (tennis) and Taylor Powell (softball)!

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Viva The Matadors

You must be a member of Viva The Matadors to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Viva The Matadors. You should read them.

Join Viva The Matadors

You must be a member of Viva The Matadors to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Viva The Matadors. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker