Game Preview | TCU Horned Frogs vs. Texas Tech Red Raiders

Scott Sewell-USA TODAY Sports

The Texas Tech Red Raiders look to snap their three game losing streak as they host the TCU Horned Frogs.

THE INFORMATION

Game Details
TEAMS TCU Horned Frogs (9-10, 0-7)
Texas Tech Red Raiders (10-11, 2-6)
WHERE United Spirit Arena | Lubbock, Texas
WHEN 12:45 pm Saturday February 1st
CONSUME Radio - TTSN | TV - Big 12 Network & ESPN3

THE CHARACTERS

Starters
Texas Tech TCU
Robert Turner (6-3/180) PG Kyan Anderson (5-11/175)
Toddrick Gotcher (6-4/195) SG Jarvis Ray (6-6/195)
Jaye Crockett (6-7/210) SF Brandon Parrish (6-6/185)
Jordan Tolbert (6-7/225) PF Hudson Price (6-6/200)
Dejan Kravic (7-0/235) C Karviar Shepherd (6-10/225)

THE ANALYSIS

Key Matchup | Anderson vs. Turner: Anderson is TCU’s best player and Turner obviously didn’t have his hands full the last time that Texas Tech played TCU, but Anderson has had a good year, averaging almost 15 a game and 5 assists and he is what gets the offense going, either by scoring or by dishing the ball. Anderson was only 1 of 12 from the floor against Texas, but the next game Anderson was 7 of 15 against Oklahoma. He can get hot and it will be up to Turner keep him in check.

Take Aim: Fields is out with an injury and this is just awful news for TCU. Fields was really the best player against Texas Tech the last game, a true post threat. Shepherd is getting better, but he’s not there yet. Kravic needs to really put the defensive clamps on TCU and without Fields, the frontcourt for TCU is incredibly thin. I’ve guessed that Price will get the start, but I’m not sure about that. If Price does start, then Tolbert should dominate. Honestly, no matter who starts, Tolbert should dominate. No excuse for him this game.

Just like the last time, TCU is not a good offensive team, ranking 289th in AdjO. That’s just abysmal. The Horned Frogs are okay defensively, 128th in AdjD, but this isn’t enough and that’s why TCU isn’t winning, is the lack of offensive firepower. Texas Tech is favored by 10 points at home.

Game Day Links:

The official site has your official preview (via TexasTech).

The Texas Tech team looks to end the three game losing streak (via LAJ).

Preview of the game from the TCU perspective (via FWST).

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Viva The Matadors

You must be a member of Viva The Matadors to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Viva The Matadors. You should read them.

Join Viva The Matadors

You must be a member of Viva The Matadors to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Viva The Matadors. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker