Post Season Nets McCoy & Suh multiple awards

Texas’ Colt McCoy and Nebraska’s Ndamukong Suh

Award winners

Texas’ Colt McCoy:
1) The Davey O’Brien Award at the annual college football awards at Disney World, given to the nation’s best quarterback.
2) The Walter Camp Football Foundation’s player of the year award for the second consecutive season.
3) the Maxwell Award honoring the nation’s best all-round player.
Nebraska’s Ndamukong Suh:
1) The Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation’s best defensive player.
2) The Outland Trophy for the best interior lineman.
3) The Lombardi Award as the nation’s top lineman.
4) The Bronko Nagurski Trophy as the nation’s top defensive player.
Cincinnati’s Brian Kelly:
1) The Coach of the Year award on the same day he told his team he was leaving for Notre Dame.
Stanford’s Toby Gerhart:
1) The Doak Walker Award for the nation’s best running back.
Tennessee’s Eric Berry:
1) The Jim Thorpe Award honoring the best defensive back.
Notre Dame’s Golden Tate:
1) The Biletnikoff Award as the best receiver.
UCLA’s Kai Forbath:
1) The Lou Groza Award for the best kicker.
Georgia’s Drew Butler:
1) The Ray Guy Award honoring the nation’s best punter.
Boston College linebacker Mark Herzlich:
1) The Disney Spirit Award given to college football’s most inspirational figure (he overcame a rare form of bone cancer and is expected to return next season.)

As you can see, Texas Tech played against two awards winners who won an accumulated 7 awards. The only reason they could not win the other awards was because they did not play a position to win them or qualify for them in any other way. For those that forgot (I know you haven’t), Tech won one and lost one of those games. All-in-all, a very good year for our Red Raiders, considering they went up against such reverent company…………

The one award left is the Heisman, to be given away to, probably, Colt McCoy today in New York. That will make 8 total awards, 4 each by Suh and McCoy.

I for one want one award for my Texas Tech Red Raiders: the Alamo Bowl Winner’s Trophy, to be presented late on Saturday, January 2, 2010.


<em>This is a FanPost and does not necessarily reflect the views of Viva The Matadors' writers or editors. It does reflect the views of this particular fan though, which is as important as the views of Viva The Matadors' writers or editors.</em>

SB Nation Featured Video
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Viva The Matadors

You must be a member of Viva The Matadors to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Viva The Matadors. You should read them.

Join Viva The Matadors

You must be a member of Viva The Matadors to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Viva The Matadors. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.